A Publicity Mailing


I had clever things in mind for today’s post. But I got caught up in working on a pamphlet to send out at Christmas and, well . . .

But I promised to post three times weekly, and so here’s the publicity mailing that Tor sent out when The Dragons of Babel got a starred review in Publishers Weekly. They take PW starred reviews as serious as serious, out there in publishing land. (Those little paragraph dingbats to either side of “starred review” are supposed to be stars. Ah, the mysteries of Web publishing!)

THE DRAGONS OF BABEL

By Michael Swanwick

A Tor Hardcover

ISBN: 0-765-31950-0

$25 .95 / 320 pages

On-sale date: January 8, 2008

Publicity News Flash

Michael Swanwick’s THE DRAGONS OF BABEL
receives a

starred review
in
Publishers Weekly.

***

Publishers Weekly calls Dragons of Babel
“modern fantasy at its finest.”

“Swanwick introduces us to a wide range of marvelous conceits, fascinating
digressions a
nd sparkling characters … should hold great appeal for fans of
Neil Gaiman’s Anansi Boys or C
hina Mieville’s novels.”

The Dragons of Babel
Swanwick, Michael (Author)

ISBN: 0765319500
Tor Books
Published 2008-01
Hardcover, $25.95 (320p)
Fiction | Fantasy – General

In this triumphant return to the universe of The Iron Dragon’s Daughter (1994),
Hugo-winner Swanwick introduces Will le Fey, an orphan of uncertain parentage.

After defeating an evil mechanical war dragon who has enslaved him and his
village, Will finds himself displaced by war, first imprisoned in an internment
camp and then transported to the many-miles-high city of Babel. On the way, he
falls in with Esme, an immortal child with no memory, and Nat Whilk, a donkey-
eared confidence man of superhuman abilities. Fusing high technology
seamlessly with magic, Swanwick introduces us to a wide range of marvelous
conceits, fascinating digressions and sparkling characters. His language
bounces effortlessly back and forth between the high diction of elfland and
thieves’ argot to create a heady literary stew. This is modern fantasy at its
finest and should hold great appeal for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Anansi Boys
or China Miéville’s novels. (Jan.)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: